Skip to main content
clickable transparency Dartmouth College Library
SearchMore Options
Home > New Acquisitions > May 2017 > P - Language & Literature > PL - Eastern Asia / Africa / Oceania

PL - Eastern Asia / Africa / Oceania acquired during May 2017

This news is available via an RSS feed RSS feed.

PE | PZ | PK | PQ | PC | PB | PG | PN | PL | PS | PT | PJ | PH | PF | PA | PD | PM | PR | P


Taming the wild horse : an annotated translation and study of the Daoist horse taming pictures
Komjathy, Louis, 1971- author
New York : Columbia University Press, [2017]
Baker Berry PL2687.G36 Z73 2017

Theory, research and pedagogy in learning and teaching Japanese grammar
Alessandro G. Benati, Sayoko Yamashita, editors
London : Palgrave Macmillan, [2016]
Baker Berry PL534 .T44 2016

Ghachar ghochar
Śānabhāga, Vivēka, author
New York, New York : Penguin Books, [2017]
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"--
Baker Berry PL4659.S2518 G3313 2017

Hermeneutics of evil in the works of Endō Shūsaku : between reading and writing
Kasza, Justyna Weronika, author
Oxford ; Peter Lang, [2016]
Baker Berry PL849.N4 Z71724 2016

Transcultural lyricism : translation, intertextuality, and the rise of emotion in modern Chinese love fiction, 1899-1925
Liu, Qian, 1985- author
Leiden ; Brill, [2017]
In 'Transcultural Lyricism: Translation, Intertextuality, and the Rise of Emotion in Modern Chinese Love Fiction, 1899?1925', Jane Qian Liu examines the profound transformation of emotional expression in Chinese fiction between the years 1899 and 1925. While modern Chinese literature is known to have absorbed narrative modes of Western literatures, it also learned radically new ways to convey emotions. 00Drawn from an interdisciplinary mixture of literary, cultural and translation studies, Jane Qian Liu brings fresh insights into the study of intercultural literary interpretation and influence. She convincingly proves that Chinese writer-translators in early twentieth century were able to find new channels and modes to express emotional content through new combinations of traditional Chinese and Western techniques. 0.
Baker Berry PL2442 .L5655 2017

The accusation
Pandi, 1950- author
[Toronto, ON] : Anansi International, 2017
Record of a defection -- City of specters -- Life of a swift steed -- So near, yet so far -- Pandemonium --On stage -- The red mushroom.

"The Accusation by anonymous North Korean writer Bandi is the first piece of fiction to come out of North Korea. The Accusation is a heartbreaking portrayal of the realities of life in North Korea. It is also a reminder that humanity can sustain hope even in the most desperate of circumstances - and that the courage of free thought has a power far beyond those who seek to suppress it."--
Baker Berry PL994.627 .A2 2017

The interfaces of Chinese syntax with semantics and pragmatics
Wu, Yicheng, author
Abingdon, Oxon ; Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group, 2017
Baker Berry PL1241 .W828 2017

Moshi Moshi
Yoshimoto, Banana, 1964- author
Berkeley : Counterpoint, 2016
"In Moshi-Moshi, Yoshie's much-loved musician father has died in a suicide pact with an unknown woman. It is only when Yoshie and her mother move to Shimo-kitazawa, a traditional Tokyo neighborhood of narrow streets, quirky shops, and friendly residents that they can finally start to put their painful past behind them. However, despite their attempts to move forward, Yoshie is haunted by nightmares in which her father is looking for the phone he left behind on the day he died, or on which she is trying-unsuccessfully-to call him. Is her dead father trying to communicate a message to her through these dreams? With the lightness of touch and surreal detachment that are the hallmarks of her writing, Banana Yoshimoto turns a potential tragedy into a poignant coming-of-age ghost story and a life-affirming homage to the healing powers of community, food, and family. Published in 2010 in Japanese in Tokyo, it has sold over 29,000 copies there so far."--
Baker Berry PL865.O7138 M59313 2016

Socialist cosmopolitanism : the Chinese literary universe, 1945-1965
Volland, Nicolai, author
New York : Columbia University Press, 2017
Introduction -- 1. The politics of texts in motion -- 2. The geopoetics of land reform in Northeast Asia -- 3. Fictionalizing the international working class -- 4. Soviet spaceships in socialist China -- 5. Sons and daughters of the Revolution -- 6. Mapping the brave new world of literature -- Conclusion.

Socialist Cosmopolitanism" offers an innovative interpretation of literature from the Mao era, proposing to read Chinese socialist literature as world literature. China after 1949 engaged with the world beyond its borders in myriad ways and on many levels-political and economic, cultural as well as literary. Far from rejecting the worldliness of earlier eras, Nicolai Volland demonstrates, the young People's Republic developed its own cosmopolitanism. Rather than a radical break with the past, Chinese socialist literature should be seen as an integral and important chapter of China's long search to find a place within world literature. Socialist Cosmopolitanism revisits a range of genres, from poetry and land reform novels to science fiction and children's literature, and shows how Chinese writers and readers alike saw their own literary production as part of a much larger literary universe. This literary space, reaching from Beijing to Berlin, from Prague to Pyongyang, from Warsaw to Moscow to Hanoi, allowed authors and texts to travel, in the course reinventing the meaning of world literature. Chinese socialist literature is driven by a hugely ambitious-and ultimately doomed-attempt to redraw the literary world map.
Baker Berry PL2303 .V65 2017

「文藝」戦後文学史 / 佐久間文子
佐久間文子, 1964- author
Tōkyō-to Shibuya-ku : Kawade Shobō Shinsha, 2016
Baker Berry Japan PL726.65 .S319852 2016

中世王朝物語全集 / [編集委員市古貞次 [and others]]
東京 : 笠間書院, 1995-<2017>
1. Akigiri / Fukuda Yuriko kōtei yakuchū. Asajigatsuyu / Suzuki Kazuo, Itō Hiroshi, Ishino Keiko kōtei yakuchū -- 2. Ama no karumo / Senoo Yoshinobu kōtei yakuchū -- 6. Kowata no shigure / Ōtsuki Osamu, Tabuchi Fukuko kōtei yakuchū. Kaze ni tsurenaki / Morishita Sumiaki kōtei yakuchū -- 7. Koke no koromo / Imai Gen'e kōtei yakuchū -- 8. Koiji yukashiki daishō / Miyata Mitsu kōtei yakuchū. Yamaji no tsuyu / Inaga Keiji kōtei yakuchū -- 9. Sayogoromo / Karashima Masao kōtei yakuchū -- 10. Shinobine / Ōtsuki Osamu, Tabuchi Fukuko kōtei yakuchū. Shiratsuyu / Kataoka Toshihiro kōtei yakuchū -- 11. Shizuku ni nigoru / Muroki Hideyuki kōtei yakuchū. Sumiyoshi monogatari / Kuwabara Hiroshi kōtei yakuchū -- 15. Kaze ni momiji / Nakanishi Kenji kōtei yakuchū. Mugura / Tokiwai Kazuko kōtei yakuchū -- 16. Matsukage Chūnagon.
Baker Berry Japan PL777.3 .C48 1995

Remains of life : a novel
Wuhe, 1951- author
New York : Columbia University Press, [2017]
"On October 27, 1930 during an annual sports meet held at Musha Elementary School on an aboriginal reservation deep in the mountains of Taiwan there occurred a bloody uprising unlike anything Japan had ever witnessed in its colonial history. Before noon the Atayal tribe had summarily slain one hundred and thirty-four Japanese in a headhunting ritual that shook the very foundations of Japan's colonial empire. The Japanese responded to what would later become known as the "Musha Incident" with a militia of three thousand, heavy artillery, airplanes, and internationally banned poisonous gas. The Atayal of Musha were brought to the brink of genocide. Nearly seventy years later, Chen Guocheng, a writer best known by his poetic penname Wu He, or "Dancing Crane," traveled to Musha to investigate the long forgotten Musha Incident and search for the "remains of life"--The survivors of the incident and their descendants. Exploring the impetus behind this disturbing historical event and questioning its legitimacy and accuracy, Wu He walks a tightrope between the primitive and the civilized, beauty and violence, fact and fiction. The result is Remains of Life, a powerful and disturbing literary voyage into perhaps the darkest chapter of Taiwan's colonial history. This one-of-a-kind work is a milestone in Chinese literature and marks the arrival of a major literary voice in the Chinese speaking world. Upon its publication in Taiwan, the novel was awarded virtually every major national literary award including the Taipei Creative Writing Award for Literature, The China Times' Ten Best Books of the Year Award, The United Daily Readers' Choice Award, Ming Pao's Ten Best Books of the Year Award, and the Kingstone Award for Most Influential Book of the Year"--
Baker Berry PL2966.U82968 Y813 2017

蜜蜂と遠雷 / 恩田陸
恩田陸, 1964- author
Tōkyō : Gentōsha, 2016
Baker Berry Japan PL874.N33 M58 2016

Song Dynasty tales : a guided reader
Zhang, Zhenjun, author,
Singapore ; World Scientific Publishing Co. Pte. Ltd., [2017]
Baker Berry PL2643 .Z43 2017

Meeting with my brother : a novella
Yi, Mun-yŏl, 1948- author
New York : Columbia University Press, [2017]
"Narrated in the first person, Meeting with My Brother tells the story of a professor's journey to meet with his younger half-brother from North Korea. The professor's father had left his family behind in the South during the Korean War and eventually had another family in the North. The story includes the professor's negotiations with the go-between who arranges the meeting, his participation in a tour group (the necessary excuse to travel to the area in China where the meeting takes place), his interaction with other tour members and Koreans living in the area, and finally his meeting with his brother. The story includes different positions on reunification and illuminates many of the reasons that make reunification difficult. In this new translation the author has added a new vignette that does not appear in the original."
Baker Berry PL992.9.M83 A913 2017

This page was dynamically generated on 22-Jun-2017 using data collected at the end of May 2017.