Skip to main content
clickable transparency Dartmouth College Library
Home > New Acquisitions > September 2016 > P - Language & Literature > PJ - Oriental Languages & Literatures

PJ - Oriental Languages & Literatures acquired during September 2016

This news is available via an RSS feed RSS feed.

P | PN | PQ | PR | PL | PJ | PT | PK | PF | PM | PZ | PG | PC | PD | PH | PA | PB | PE | PS

Travels in translation : sea tales at the source of Jewish fiction
Frieden, Ken, 1955-
Syracuse, New York : Syracuse University Press, 2016
Baker Berry PJ5029 .F67 2016

Indebted : capitalism and religion in the writings of S.Y. Agnon
Sagiv, Yonatan
Cincinnati, OH : Hebrew Union College Press/University of Pittsburgh Press, [2016]
A Monetary Prelude: Agnon's Time in Germany -- Introduction -- The Gift of Debt -- Talking Through Money -- Can't Buy Me Love -- The Incomplete Text and the Indebted Author -- Conclusion.

"This is the first book to examine the oeuvre of Shmuel Yosef Agnon, 1966 Nobel laureate in literature, through a reading that combines perspectives from economic theory, semiotics, psychoanalysis, narrative theory, and Jewish and religious studies. Sagiv outlines the vital role economy plays in the construction of religion, subjectivity, language, and thought in Agnon's work, and, accordingly, explores his literary use of images of debt, money, and economy to examine how these themes illuminate other focal points in the canonical author's work, excavating the economic infrastructure of discourses that are commonly considered to reside beyond the economic sphere. Sagiv's analysis of Agnon's work, renowned for its paradoxical articulation of the impact of modernity on traditional Jewish society, exposes an overarching distrust regarding the sustainability of any economic structure. The concrete and symbolic economies surveyed in this project are prone to cyclical crises. Under what Sagiv terms Agnon's "law of permanent debt," the stability and profitability of economies are always temporary. Agnon's literary economy, transgressing traditional closures, together with his profound irony, make it impossible to determine if these economic crises are indeed the product of the break with tradition or, alternatively, if this theodicy is but a fantasy, marking permanent debt as the inherent economic infrastructure of human existence"--
Baker Berry PJ5053.A4 Z7825 2016

A city in its fullness
Agnon, Shmuel Yosef, 1887-1970
New Milford, CT, USA : The Toby Press, [2016]
Baker Berry PJ5053.A4 A2 2016

A red rose in the dark : self-constitution through the poetic language of Zelda, Amichai, Kosman, and Adaf
Lemberger, Dorit
Brighton, MA : Academic Studies Press, 2016
Preface -- Chapter One Poetic Grammar: Three Aspects of Aesthetic Judgment -- 1. Examination and Judgment of Aesthetic Language: The Fundamental Tension -- 2. The First Aspect: A Poetic Work as Driving Reflective Introspection -- 3. The Second Aspect: Conscious Change as the Key to Aesthetic Judgment -- 4. The Third Aspect: Showing What Cannot Be Said -- Summation -- Chapter Two Dialogical Grammar: Variations of Dialogue in Wittgenstein's Methodology as Ways of Self-Constitution -- 1. "Family Resemblance" between the Platonic Dialogue and Wittgenstein's Methodology -- 1.1. Wittgenstein's Critique of Socrates -- 1.2. Similarities between Wittgensteinian and Socratic Dialogue -- 1.3. Language as a Medium of Thought: Soliloquy as Ordinary Language -- 1.4. Reflective Dialogue: Dialogue between Sense-Perception and Image 2. Wittgensteinian Dialogical Grammar in the Philosophical Investigations: Rhetorical, Conversational, Reflective -- 2.1. Dialogism in the Philosophical Investigations: "A Surveyable Representation" 2.2. Aspects of Dialogism -- 2.3. Dialogue as Technique -- 2.4. Conversational Dialogue -- 2.5. Reflective Dialogue Chapter Three Self-Constitution through Mystical Grammar: The Urge and Its Expressions Three Channels of Mystical Grammar -- 1. Preliminary Considerations: Theology as Grammar and the Metaphysical Subject 2. The Mystical-Religious Channel: The Religious Aspect of Mystical Grammar -- 3. Who Is Experiencing? The Paradox of the I and the "Solution" of the Mystic Subject -- 4. I as Object--I as Subject: From James to Wittgenstein -- 5. From Perfectionism to Confession: Work on Oneself -- Chapter Four Zelda: The Complex Self-Constitution of the Believer -- 1. Expression and Conversion between Everyday and Poetic Grammar -- 2. Dialogic Grammar: Internal and External Observations -- 3. Mystical Grammar: Perfectionism and Metaphysics as Zelda's Varieties of Religious Experience -- Chapter Five Yehuda Amichai: Amen and Love -- 1. The Poetics of Change: The Grammaticalization of Experience -- 2. Dialogic Grammar: The Importance of Otherness -- 3. Reconstruction of the Subject: The Mystical Grammar of Open Closed Open -- 3.1. The Mechanism of Change as the Key to Perfectionism 3.2. The Conception of an Individual God: God as Change and as Interlocutor -- 3.3. The Encounter with Biblical Word-Games as the Key to the Reconstruction of the Self -- 3.4. The Refashioning of Religious Rituals as an Expression of Intersubjective Change of the Self -- Chapter Six Admiel Kosman: We Reached God The Popping Self -- 1. The Poetic Grammar of Revolution: The New Believer -- 1.1. How to Do Things with Words: The Weekly Torah Portion -- 1.2. When All the Words Are Finished--All Is Intoxicated from Clarity -- 2. Dialogical Grammar: Self-Constitution as Conversational Process -- 3. Mystical Grammar: Private Pain and Manifestation of the Other Chapter Seven Shimon Adaf: Poetry as Philosophy and Philosophy as Poetry The Nobility of Pain 1. Icarus Monologue: The Poetic Grammar of Hybrid Imagination -- 2. What I Thought Shadow Is the Real Body: The Dialogical Grammar of Place, Time, and Memory -- 2.1. Poetry as a Chronological and Thematic Point of Departure 2.2. The Subject as the Limit of the World -- 3. Aviva-No: The Grammar of Mourning -- 4. The Way Music Speaks -- Summation: "As if I Could Read the Darkness" -- Index

"How can we characterize the uniqueness of poetic language? How can we describe the evasive enchantment of the paradox that is created by both universal and autobiographical expression? How does ordinary language function aesthetically while motivating the reader to acknowledge himself and to reveal how far his thinking belongs to the present, the future, or the past? Ludwig Wittgenstein, the central founder of the linguistic turn and the inspiration of countless works, inspires the search of this book for various linguistic functions: dialogic, aesthetic, and mystical. The search investigates four Modern Hebrew poets: Zelda, Yehuda Amichai, Admiel Kosman, and Shimon Adaf based on their family resemblance of intertextuality in their language-games. The book resists social-cultural categorizations as religious vs. secular poetry or Mizrahi vs. Ashkenazi literature, and instead, focuses on Wittgenstein's aspects, suggesting universal interpretation of these corpuses."--Back cover.
Baker Berry PJ5024 .L46 2016

The Naguib Mahfouz reader
Maḥfūẓ, Najīb, 1911-2006
Cairo : The American University in Cairo Press, 2016
Novels -- Short stories -- Autobiographical works.
Baker Berry PJ7846.A46 A2 2016

Twenty girls to envy me : selected poems of Orit Gidali
Gidali, Orit
Austin, Texas : Center for Middle Eastern Studies, 2016
Contains selected poems in English and the origianl Hebrew, selected from Twenty Girls to Envy Me, Closing In, and Cradle. Also includes two new poems: A Thousand Nights and Child.
Baker Berry PJ5055.22.I35 A2 2016

Pouring water on time : a bilingual topical anthology of classical Arabic poetry
Ajami, Mansour, author
Berlin : Gerlach Press, 2016
Baker Berry PJ7694.E3 A43 2016

Sonallah Ibrahim : rebel with a pen
Starkey, Paul, 1947- author
Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, [2016]
Baker Berry PJ7838.B7173 Z875 2016

The secret book of kings : a novel
Brandes, Yokhi, author
[New York] : St. Martin's Press, 2016
"Discover the concealed stories of the sturggles of King David and King Saul in the early days of the kingdom of Israel, seen through the eyes of Michal, Saul's daughter and David's abandoned queen."--Dust jacket, p. [2]
Baker Berry PJ5055.17.R34 M4513 2016

The English teacher : a novel
Reicher Atir, Yiftach, author
New York : Penguin Books, 2016
"For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army. After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent's assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all. In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time".--
Baker Berry PJ5055.39.E42 M6713 2016

Nevo, Eshkol, author
London : Chatto & Windus, 2014
Dori's father has gone travelling in South America and, suffering from some kind of breakdown, following the death of his wife, he goes missing. Dori sets out to find him, leaving his wife and young son at home in Israel.
Baker Berry PJ5055.35.E92 N6913 2014

The poetry of Rav Yosef Tzvi Rimon : a myrtle in the desert
Rimon, Y. Zvi, 1889-1958, author
Springfield, NJ : Gefen, [2016]
Baker Berry PJ5053.R53 A6 2016

Be-tokh ha-bayit
Pincas, Israel
[Tel Aviv] : ha-Ḳibuts ha-meʼuḥad, [1978]
Baker Berry PJ5054.P48 B4 1978

Arbaʻah ʻaśar shirim
Pincas, Israel
Yerushalayim : ʻAkhshaṿ, 1961
Baker Berry PJ5054.P48 A7 1961

Anṭenot ṿe-ḥaishanim : tishʻim u-tishʻah fragmenṭim
Pincas, Israel
Raʻananah : Even ḥoshen, 2008
Baker Berry PJ5054.P48 A83 2008

Yiśraʼel Pinḳas : mivḥar shirim u-devarim ʻal yetsirato
Pincas, Israel
[Tel Aviv] : Maḥbarot le-shirah, [1962]
Baker Berry PJ5053.P47 Y5

Aruḥat ʻerev be-Ferarah : ṿe-shirim aḥerim
Pincas, Israel
Tel Aviv : Yedid la-meḥaber, ©1965
Baker Berry PJ5054.P48 A78 1965

Geneʼalogyah : shirim u-foʼemot
Pincas, Israel
[Raʻananah] : [Even ḥoshen], [c757 i.e. c1997]
Baker Berry PJ5054.P48 G46 1997

This page was dynamically generated on 23-Oct-2016 using data collected at the end of September 2016.